Thursday, December 30, 2010

Day 3 Aussie Champs - Pre-Worlds Wrap

The Aussie Champs provided a full range of breeze from 3 to 25 knots providing something for everyone.  The morning started in 5/6 knots from the East and moved about resulting in a change of course.  The Irishman, Ross Kearney and Max Odell showed blistering pace in the light breeze storming to a 20 boat length lead and an unassailable lead.  They were chased by Jessie Atherton and Katherine Maher from Tasmania who were liking the light conditions with New South Welshman Mark Phillips and son Hugh pushing to the front of the fleet after Hugh had recovered from illness that saw miss the first day of racing. 

Race 9 caused some problems in getting the line set and the fleet away with some wind vascillation and a twitchy fleet seeing the black flag come into play with 12 teams being penalised.  The Tassie girls Atherton and Maher revelled in the light breeze and took the gun. 

After lunch Race 10 provided a southerly breeze of 7-9 knots in magical conditions which were enjoyed by all the sailors and spectators.  The Phillips were on fire and managed to win by a healthy margin followed by Philippines Olympic aspirations Balladares and Chavez, the heavyweight crew who managed to stay in front of Victorians Anita Scott-Murphy and son Ben Cruse.

The final race of the Championships went to Kearney and Odell with the South African number ones, Ricky and Ryan Robinson coming second and British teenagers Millie Newman and Jessica Rust showing great form to come in third.

The battle for the Australian Championships was between father and son teams, local Albany sailors Paul and Austin Taylor and New South Welshmen, Lachlan and Finn Gilbert.  The two teams pushed each other throughout the series with the Taylors becoming the 45th Australian Champions with the Gilberts 4 points behind in the 11 race series. 

Third went to the Tassie girls Atherton and Maher a further 11 points behind.

The Ireland Trophy for the winner of the Pre-Worlds went to the Taylors.  The first internationl boat was the Philippino team of Balladares and Chavez who sailed brillantly given the regatta was their first time in the boat.  They finished 4 points behind Gilbert in the tally for the Pre-Worlds. 

The Australian Championships were a great success with 5 different race winners showing the eveness and competitiveness at the front of the fleet and the quality of competition.  The introduction of the trapezoid provided excellent angles for the sailors and the Race Committee did a first class job with laying the courses. 

In other results:

Silver Fleet
  1. Time N Tide - Douglas and Edward Raftesath (NSW)
  2. Fizz - Quentin Hunt and Molly Hulton (TAS)
  3. Sea Joule - Megan Price and Celia May (QLD)
Classic Fleet (Gaff Rig)
Steppnwolf - David and Timothy Pilbeam (WA)

The Montrose Bay Trophy - Cruiseweight Champion combined weight over 130kg
Knot Too Risky - Paul Terry and Sara Batten (WA)

NRMA Mirror Class Sub Junior Champion
Foxy Lady 3 - Robbie Hunt/David McAully (TAS)

The Canberra Cup  - Youth Champion
Lightning Strike - Kieran Murnane and Mani Guintoli (WA)

Retire Invest Trophy - Veterans Champion over 45
Black Jack - John and Jesse Dransfield (NSW)

Ladies Champion
Kamikaze - Jessie Atherton/Katherine Maher (TAS)

Norm Deane Masters Champion
Kamikaze II - Mark Barrington/Thomas Howell (TAS)

Frank Buxton Family Champion
Stanley Crocodile - Lachlan and Finn Gilbert (NSW)

The Canberra Times Winning State
Western Australia

The Ireland Tophy - Winner of the Pre-Worlds
Bombora - Paul and Austin Taylor (WA)

1st International Boat
Charter 2 - Rigdely Balladares and Rommel Chavez (Philippines)

Bill Jaffray Memorial Trophy - Outstanding Contribution to Mirror Sailing in Australia
Mark Pitt

The Mordialloc Mirror Trophy - Australian National Mirror Champion
1st Bombora - Paul and Austin Taylor (WA) 45 points
2nd Stanley Crocodile - Lachlan and Finn Gilbert (NSW) 49 points
3rd Kamikaze - Jessie Atherton/Katherine Maher (TAS) 60 points

No comments:

Post a Comment